Tomato,Mozzeralla Crostinis with Basil paste spread

These are good for so many things! A perfect party treat, appetizer, or just a snack! Again, I don’t have a picture of the finish product. Since I am still learning how to use this,  I am posting recipes even if I did not make them the day I posted. But I have pictures! When I first made these, I couldn’t find any Basil. I had to use Basil paste, it has a nice freshness. I wanted to put basil leaves on top but since I didn’t have any, I was gonna put dots of the paste. Then I got the idea to make it a spread.It gave you more of the basil flavor. It reminds me of pesto because Its green! I first got this idea because my older sister Rebecca LOVES tomato, Mozzarella, and Basil sandwiches and salad. So I just got that, put it on a toasted piece of bread, and I made something awesome! You know that moment when you get the first bite of that crunchy piece of bread? I love that moment!

photo.JPG

photo.JPG
photo.JPG

Look at me with those pictures! By the way, I made the pictures bigger, my hands aren’t really that big. In the picture of my holding the tomato, my hand looks huge! If you were confused on the Basil paste, thats it! You can find it in the aisle where you find wasabi, I think. Just ask the clerk and he will get it for you! I admit, i’m not the best shopper, I just go to get free samples! That tomato is pure fresh! Every week we get fruits and veggies from our vocal farm, the best bananas ever are there! But we got it from there! You can get 4-6 slices of small cherry tomatos or one slice of a big one. What ever you want!  Well, what are we waiting for? Lets go make them!!!!!!!!

Ingredients-

8 slices of French  bread

1 bottle of basil paste

8 slices of fresh mozzarella cheese

2 tablespoons of olive oil

8 large slices of tomato or 16 small ones

 

Directions-

Preheat oven to 350

Put the slices of bread on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil

Put in oven for 5-10 minutes, until golden and crispy

Meanwhile, slice and wash the tomatoes. Slice the mozzarella cheese

When bread is done, let cool for 5 minutes

Spread the basil paste corner-corner and top with tomatoe and cheese slices

Serve and Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

