Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie with Cool Whip

grandmothers pie

(Photo credit: paul+photos=moody)

 

Wow!! Rich Fudgy Chocolate Filling with an Oreo crust and Cool Whip!! Where to begin! Lets start with thechocolate Cream!

As y’all know, I love chocolate!! I have ate things that are really chocolate fudge, sauce, ice cream, cake, bars, and brownies staked on top of each other no joke! I love rich chocolate!! You don’t want to see me on halloween! It takes my days to get back to my normal sleeping scheduale after my sugar high!! Its awesome! You know how sometimes a filling or frosting can be overally heavy?  When I was younger, me and my friend Malina made these cupcakes and instead of making frosting, we made pudding. It was good but I like light fluffy type frosting, the pudding was dense and heavy. This is a little on the heavy side so I added some Cool Whip!

 

The Cool Whip really helps!! It gives it that extra flavor and it has the light fluffy flavor! The cool whip is optional but I suggest you do it. It gives the pie more flavor! The cool whip goes so nice with the pie crust. Since the pie crust is flaky it absorbs the flavor of the cool whip. I would break the crust into pieces and dip them into cool whip if I could!! I would love it!! With the extra layer of chocolate to settle it is awesome! The chocolate gets in the crust to! To me, pie is basic, a crust with a filling and a topping. I like to keep my pies under 7 layers so all the flavors are concentrated and can get soaked into each other. Thats just my personal thing though. Get creatice and make the pies how ever you want!

  • 1 original pie crust, baked
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons of corn starch
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of milk
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 2 squares unsweetened chocolate
  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 container of Cool Whip ( Optional)

Directions-

  1. In medium a

    saucepan, mix the  sugar, flour, cornstarch and salt.

  2. In a medium bowl,

    beat milk and egg yolks until smooth. Gradually stir into sugar

    mixture. Stir constantly over medium heat until mixture thickens and

    comes to a full boil. Boil and stir for one minute.

  3. Remove from heat and stir in chocolate, butter and vanilla. Stir until melted.
  4. Pour into crust
  5. Spread cool whip on top

     

Leave a Reply

