Chessy Orzo!!!

One of my favorite sides is orzo. I love how it has the texture of rice but the flavor of pasta. I got into orzo by my BFF Maina. On her 12th birthday, she had a family party at her grandparents house and invited me. Her grandma made orzo and everybody was eating it but me, I didn’t know what it was but Malina told me to try some. I did, and It was like love at first sight. It was amazing!! As soon as I got home I was looking up recipes. For the next week, I was eating  orzo every day. My favorite recipe was this. It was seasoned so well, its delicious. I couldn’t believe how good it was!  It was cheesy and yummy and OMG my mouth is watering just talking about it. It is sooooooooooooo good. Malina and me have our heart set on orzo, we love it so much and this sets it. With the Fresh Parmesan cheese and the garlic powder, it is amazing that few ingredients could go such a long way!
Like rice and pasta, there are thousands of ingredients and flavors you could pair with orzo and finding it isn’t a walk in the park.  But I like to think about it as, “what would I pair with pasta” because orzo has the flavor of pasta, I think cheese. Then the pieces just fall into place. It works,  that is how I came up with most recipes on this blog!
I am trying to post a lot of recipes today so g2g bye!
Ingredients-
  • 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp of Pepper 
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup uncooked, orzo pasta
  • 1 cup water
Directions- 
  1. Melt 1/2 the butter in a skillet over medium heat. Mix in orzo, and remaining butter. Cook and stir 5 minutes, until butter is melted 
  2. Pour the water  into a skillet, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low. Season with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. Put in orzo,Cook 7 to 10 minutes, Stir in Parmesan cheese
 
Leave a Reply

