Crab Cakes

A Delicious Crabcake at the Middleton Tavern

A Delicious Crabcake at the Middleton Tavern (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I live in Maryland. We are known for blue crabs. I know my crab cakes, and this is a great crab cake!!! When I was younger, my BFF Malina (she still is my BFF) would always invite me to her grandparents house. Well, her grandma was a great cook and she made these amazing crab cakes. I am not kidding, they were absolutely amazing!! I don’t know what she did, the seasonings and ingredients were like nothing else!! That kinda gave me the inspiration to try a bunch of different crab cakes from a bunch of restaurants. I went to Annapolis, Baltimore, and some in Columbia. Then I made some of my own. So I put all the best ingredients together and made a whole new crab cake. BEST CRAB CAKE EVER!!!!!! When you have all the flavors and textures from the best crab cakes and put them into one, you will have the best crab cake!

Size depends on you. I have been to some restaurants that make them golf ball size but others that make it the size of my hand! You can do what ever size you want but make sure they are even so they cook evenly. There is really nothing worse then a burnt crab cake. I like them maybe the size of a flattened tennis or baseball. That brings me to another thing. I like to flatten my crab cakes like a pan cake. Some people make it like a mountain. It will cook more even if it is an even size flattened in a circle. If you make it like a mountain, the sides are so unevenly shaped it will be raw on the inside but might be anywhere from raw-burnt on the outside. We want to saute not sear!

Any crab will do. Since I am outside of Baltimore, I use blue crabs. But since most people who read my post live in other places, you can use any type of crab. Red crabs may be the best option because they are not hard to find and aren’t the most expensive. But whatever you want is fine.

I can’t tell you enough how much you will love these!! Thee packed with  flavor! See, all you need to make a delightful delicious dish is a little inspiration! Like in the picture above, you can put these on a roll and make a amazing sandwich!! That is how I like to serve them!!

Prep-15 minutes
Cook- 30 minutes
Ready in 45 minutes
 Ingredients
  • 4 pounds crabmeat 
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest
  • 1/8 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning  
  • 2 tablespoons fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 cup saltine crackers, crushed  
  • 1 cup celery, diced
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 4 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 3/4 cups vegetable oil
Directions- 
  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine crabmeat, 1 egg, lemon zest, Old Bay Seasoning, chopped basil, crushed crackers, salt,pepper, diced celery, and mayonnaise. Mix till well combined
  2. Form crab patties out of the crab mixture and chill until cold before cooking. 
  3. In a skillet, heat 4 tablespoons of oil over medium heat. Saute the crab cakes for 4 minutes on each side ,until golden brown.
2 thoughts on “Crab Cakes

  1. Pingback: Annapolis Maryland <> Crab Cakes

  2. Pingback: Quick and Tasty Crab Quiche | Inspirations Fine Catering, Inc.

Leave a Reply

