French Toast Casserole

French Toast Souffle' Casserole

(Photo credit: Bunches and Bits {Karina})

I love french toast!!!!!! At first, I was never a fan of taking such a delicious classic and turning it into a casserole. But that god I did!! Its delicious It has all the flavors and textures of french toast but you get all of it in one single bite!! AMAZING! I was so surprised how good it was when I first made it. Now I make it almost every weekend! It is so easy!1 You just throw stuff in a pan then put it in the oven!! I love easy things that taste good. I’m a very lazy person!!

I have been jogging every morning lately and I hate running so it puts me in a bad mood. So what I do is make this before I jog, throw it in the oven, jog for 20 minutes and when I come back, there is a nice smell and a amazing casserole!!

Now, lets talk bread. The type of bread is your decision but I have a few tips. Don’t do a really soft bread because when all the flavors soak in, it will get soggy. I suggest french bread. It is hard but when the milk soaks in, it won’t get soggy just soft. But cut off the crust.

Say you don’t plain to make this but you are in the mood for it one morning. You might be able to still make it. Besides the bread, you will probably have these ingredients in your house on a ordinary basis. Its so nice to not expect but get it before when you wake up.

So, lets start!

Ingredients-

  • 5 cups bread cubes
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon margarine, softened
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon

Directions- 

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Lightly butter an 8×8 inch baking pan. 
  3. Line bottom of pan with bread cubes. In a large
    bowl, beat together eggs, milk, 2 tablespoons sugar,
     
  4. salt and vanilla.
    pour egg mixture over bread. Dot with the margarine,let sit for 10
    minutes.
     
  5. Combine remaining 2 tablespoons sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon and sprinkle over the top. Bake in preheated oven
    about 45 to 50 minutes, until top is golden.
Leave a Reply

