Sweet Potato Casserole

Picture adapted from- MAM51

Holy Sweet Potato!!! I love potatoes!! But as y’all know I love sweet food. What can be better then sweet potato casserole?!! I had my first sweet potato casserole when I was 7 at on Thanksgiving. Well, it wasn’t a casserole. It was mashed sweet potato instead of plain mashed potatoes. I really liked it!! My grandparents came every Thanksgiving and my grandma suggested putting marshmallows on sweet potatoes with some cinnamon and making a casserole. I tho0ught that was a horrible idea cause I thought, “who puts marshmallows on there sweet potatoes?” But my mom loved the idea and when she first made it I refused to try it. But she made me and when I tried it, I loved it. It tasted like sweet potato pie with marshmallows!! When I first made it on my own. I made a few changes to my moms recipe. I added more cinnamon, some nutmeg, butter in stead of Margarine and I was in heaven!! I don’t want to brag about my food but it was amazing!! It had the right amount of cinnamon and the nutmeg gave it a great new flavor!!!

Do y’all like s’mores?? The main part of a s’more is the marshmallow. In my opinion. When I was little I hated the toasted marshmallow. I put chocolate on a graham cracker and I ate and loved it. Now I love the marshmallows but only if they are slightly toasted. I like light brown, no black. The marshmallows on here are just the way I like them. Slightly melted and toasted but no burnt taste!! I’m crazy for this. This is great for Thanksgiving, a side, of possibly a dessert. I make it every thanksgiving and my whole family loves it!!

You know how kids say they wish dessert was dinner and they want ice cream for dinner. I still do that. Well some people may not consider it a dessert but its sweet. If sweet potato pie is considered a dessert this should be to!!This even has marshmallows!!! Whole package!! And its pretty!! Its bright orange!! I love fall colors, red, yellow, orange. Its so pretty!!

Okay, well lets make some sweet potato!

Ingredients-

  • 5 sweet potatoes, sliced
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons orange juice
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 pkg mini marshmallows

Directions-

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Place sweet potatoes in a large saucepan with water (water should be covering potatoes).
  3. Bring to a boil, and cook until tender, about 15-17 minutes. Remove from the heat, drain, and mash.
  4. Put mashed sweet potatoes in a large bowl, and use an electric mixer to blend with the butter, brown sugar, orange juice, nutmeg, and the cinnamon.
  5. Spread into a baking dish. Top with miniature marshmallows.
  6. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until heated through, and marshmallows golden brown.

 

Leave a Reply

