Grilled YellowFin Tuna

Grilled Tuna

Grilled Tuna (Photo credit: sheilaz413)

When I was 11, this sushi place was built 2 minutes away from my house. My family was and still is a huge sushi fans. We ordered so much food it wasn’t even funny.  Out of all of it, my favorite was tuna. After that I made a lot of tuna. I remember it tasting good but it could have just been because I made it. But I decided to make my own interpretation of the dish I made when I was 11. I used to just through a little garlic and some terriaki sauce on the tuna. But I changed it up. I used yellowfin tuna and added some ginger actually measured stuff out. It was way better then how I used to make it.

Okay so here is the deal. Since the marinade is salty from the teriyaki sauce, you need to be careful not too over marinate it. The most you should marinate it is 55 minutes, so start making this about an hour  before you want to serve dinner. I learned the hard way. I marinated it for hours and it fell apart in grains of salt. Teriyaki is stronger than soy sauce so you need o be careful not to over do it. That is why I only season the tuna with pepper. So marinate it for 45 minutes min and 55 max.

You know when school starts you start eating take out and frozen dinners because you are so busy? Well the good thing about tuna, it takes way less time to cook tuna then it does to find the place to order from, decide what you want to order, order, wait till its ready, pick it up, and bring it back. This take like 55 minutes in all but 45 minutes of it are just marinating it. The other 10 are cooking it. It really doesn’t take that long, about 3 minutes per side. Okay, well the  point is, this taste and is better for you!!! Except for maybe chick-fil-a!! Nothing beats that!!! YUM!!

I don’t know about you, about I’m not ready to go back. Well, it doesn’t affect me much but  I like having the whole family at home, just baking away! I’m trying to save quick and easy recipes so when school starts I can make these without my family getting sick of them!!

Guess we will wait and see!

Ingredients-

  • 4 fillets yellowfin tuna
  • 1 cup teriyaki sauce
  • 3/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons minced garlic
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger

Directions-

  1. In a large
    resealable plastic bag, combine the teriyaki sauce, oil, garlic, ginger, and
    pepper. 
  2. Put the tuna fillets in the bag.
  3. Marinate for 45 minutes in the refrigerator.
  4. Meanwhile, preheat an outdoor grill for high heat
  5. Remove tuna
    from the marinade, and place on the grill. For rare tuna, grill for 3 to 5
    minutes on each side. For medium, grill 5 to 8 minutes per side. For
    well done, grill for 8 to 10 minutes per side.
  6. Enjoy!!
Leave a Reply

