Mongolian Beef

Mongolian Beef

Mongolian Beef (Photo credit: ravissant7

5th grade, huge year for me. I cut my hair to my shoulders for the first time. I got the weirdest teacher. My cousin was born, I got braces, and I had my first piece of Mongolian beef. Its weird I don’t remember any of any other grades. Well, I have glimpses. In kindergarten We played musical chairs on the rainbow carpet. And I had an awful math teacher in 6th grade! Now I’m gonna go cry myself cause I love this so much. WHAT? I had to send the kids to school, sad! So lets raise our glasses and cheer for the best 1st day of school dinner! It was so nice, just making this waiting for the kids to come home, it was comforting!

Asian Inspiration!! I love all asian food. Chinese, Japanese. I think this is Chinese. I’m not sure. I do know its delicious!! It is the most tender juicy beef I have eve had and I eat a lot of beef. Look in all my beef recipes, I never said that in any of them. I said they were juicy and tender but never that juicy and tender! Its so juicy you when you bite into it the juice just comes down, YUM!!There are so many asian flavors in here. Some ginger, soy sauce, and garlic. Those are used in almost every savory Asian dish.

Of course it wouldn’t be as meal on itself. You can put the beef over noodles or rice. I like rice better then noodles because noodles in my  opinion are for beef stroanof. But if you do use noodles, I suggest egg noodles. I sware, when I was a kid every tie my grandma came she would make me egg noodles. I would get home from school there would be a big bowl of fresh egg noodles. All she did was put butter on it. I don’t know why, no body made them as good as she did!! But I still prefer rice. But speaking of my family making great food,  My makes this great Mongolian beef. She found it on Pinterest, I changed it up a bit. Speaking of pinterest, I just got one!

Ingredients-

  • 2 tsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon mince garlic
  • 1/2 tsp garlic root
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 pound beef flank steak cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 cup vegetable oil, for frying
  • 2 bunches green onions,cut
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions-

  1. Heat 2 tsp of vegetable
    oil in a saucepan over medium heat, and cook and stir the garlic and
    ginger  about 30 seconds. Pour in the
    soy sauce, water, and brown sugar. Raise the heat to medium-high, and
    stir 4 minutes, until the sugar has dissolved and the sauce boils and
    slightly thickens. Remove sauce from the heat, and set aside.
  2. Place the
    sliced beef into a bowl, and stir the cornstarch into the beef, coating
    it thoroughly. Allow the beef and cornstarch to sit until most of the
    juices from the meat have been absorbed by the cornstarch, about 10
    minutes.
  3. Heat the vegetable oil in a deep-sided skillet or wok to 375
  4. Drop them into the hot oil, a few
    at a time. Stir, and fry until the edges become crisp and start
    to brown, about 3 minutes. Remove the beef from the oil, and drain on paper towels to remove excess oil.
  5. Pour the oil
    out of the skillet, and return the pan to medium heat. Return the
    beef slices to the pan, stir briefly, and pour in the reserved sauce.
    Stir to combine, and add the green onions. Bring the
    mixture to a boil, and cook until the onions have softened and turned
    bright green
Leave a Reply

