Chicken Pot Pie

Photo Credit- Robbie Rice

I love having family dinners. Like the Whole family, aunts, uncles, like Thanksgiving but not. I would way rather host these dinners then go to one. Personaly, I don’t like anybody bringing anything I like to make it all myself. I live in Maryland, most of my family doesn’t. We have Boston, Calfornia, Virginia. I don’t want them bringing food from there! I know, I’m kinda a control freak Every year I always make this huge roasted turkey. But, I wanted to do something different. So I decided to roast a chicken, and make a homemade chicken pot pie.

I did the chicken with gravy and mashed potatoes so I did that too. When the pie was 2 minutes before being done,  I slapped a ton of mashed potatoes on top. I made them while the pies were baking. I made them normally but it was o good when it got on the pie because it baked on top.  Its like a merangue on a chicken pot pie. But that wasn’t enough mashed potatoes for my family. So I made more and tripled my original recipe. I madelike 15 pounds of mashed potatoes, that a lot of mashed potatoes!! My mashed potatoes are known in my family. I put so much butter and cream in them and season them with so much salt and pepper. I do gotta admit, I make good mashed potatoes. You don’t have to put them on top I just prefer too.

My favorite part of the dinner is the chicken pot pie. Its always nice. I made a bunch of big pot pies cause I didn’t have enough mini pie pans to make indivisual ones for everybody. If you do want to make mini indivisual ones then you can use the same recipe, I have no idea how many it would make. But it is nice to have mini pies. The recipe makes 2 big ones so if you made mini it would probably make 8. I just quickly did that in my head.

I’m giving you the recipe for the pie without the potatoes by the way.

Ingredients-

  • 1 pound skinless, boneless,chicken breast
  • 1cup sliced carrots
  • 1 cup frozen green peas
  • 1 cup celery, sliced
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup onion, chopped
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 1/3 cups chicken broth
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 2 unbaked pie crust

Directions-

  1. Preheat oven to 425
  2. In a saucepan, combine chicken, carrots, peas, and celery. Add enough water to cover the veggies and boil for 15 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat, drain and put to the side
  4. In the saucepan over medium heat, cook onions in the butter until soft. Stir in flour, salt, and pepper Slowly stir in chicken broth and milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thick. Remove from heat and set aside.
  5. Place the chicken mixture in bottom pie crust. Pour the hot liquid mixture over the chicken mixture.
  6. Cover with top crust, seal edges, and cut away any un-needed dough.
  7. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 to 35 minutes, or until pastry is golden brown and filling is bubbly. Cool for 10 minutes before serving.
Leave a Reply

