Honey Chicken Skewer

Chicken Shish Kabobs

(Photo credit: Scott Barlow)

Sorry I haven’t posted in a few days! I have been really busy ever since school started. I don’t know why, I guess once school gets back, all the adults do too. But I have been really bust so just a heads up, its becoming harder and harder for me to post every day

When I was younger I remember having dinner with some family friends and we would always make chicken skewers. We made a lot of kinds but I remember eating this one the most.I remember eating of all the onions and peppers and saving the chicken for last. What? Its not like you don’t save all the marshmellows in your bowl of lucky charms for last? Or maybe I have weird eating habits. I do hat for everything. When ever I eat my half baked cookie dough ice cream, I eat all the ice cream and save all the cookie dough pieces and brownie bites till the end and eat it all at once. Anyway, we are still having little get togethers like that. I was deciding what to make and I decided it would be kinda cool to do those again. They are old but delicious!

How to make them better, add sweet onions, how to make them eve better, add some roasted pepper! You can’t have a kabob or skewer with one thing on  it now can you? So al though the name, there is some soy sauce in here. I first tried it with out the soy sauce and just honey, it was really sticky in sweet. Sticky and Sweet are for sticky buns, not these. So I thought of a few other honey chicken recipes and I thought of sweet and a little salty. So I made it again and added some soy sauce and marinated it in some garlic and a honey and soy sauce. It was way better!! Better without believe!! I guess cause soy sauce is liquid it took away from the sticky texture of the honey so it didn’t feel thick and gooey when you bite into it. It was great!! Pretty much the same recipe as we used to use just a little twist!

Everybody liked them so they couldn’t have been that bad. JK, they weren’t bad at all! They were so good. I know in all my post I say that its “sooooooooooo good” and it probably gets boring, but as you can tell, I’m way better at making and cooking recipes then writing a post!!

Ingredients-

  • 1/4 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup of honey
  • 1/3 cup of soy sauce
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 8 skinless, boneless  chicken halves (cut into 1 inch cubes)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 5 small onions, cut into 2 inch pieces
  • 2 red bell peppers, cut into 2 inch pieces
  • Skewers

Directions-

  1. Place the chicken, garlic,
    onions and peppers in the bowl, and marinate in the refrigerator at
    least 2 hours(it can be more)
    Drain the marinade from the chicken and vegetables
  2. In a bowl, whisk together oil, honey, soy sauce, and pepper.
    Before adding chicken, reserve a small amount of
    marinade to brush onto kabobs while cooking.

    Put chicken and vegetables onto the skewers
    Preheat an outdoor grill.
    Put the skewers on the grill. Cook for 12 to 15 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through
    Turn and brush with reserved marinade
  3. Enjoy!

Leave a comment