Lemon Bars with Shortbread Crust

English: Shortbread lemon squares. Italiano: S...

. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Uh Hello?? Do y’all not realize what is happening on this earth right now? We are making lemon bars!! Lemon bars have been one of my favorite desserts since I was 9!! Its so fresh tasting! There is that fresh, sour curd and that shortbread crust!! I have never like shortbread. Its honest. I think they are dry and just taste like flour. But it gives a great texture and flavor to these. It takes away some of the sourness!! Like I have said time and time before, my dad was never a big chocolate fan. But I loved making these!! With a little powdered sugar on top!

You know when you bite into something and it just taste fake and processed.? I hate that, well this is the exact opposite. You bight into it and its just so fresh and delicious!! Well, you all now how a lemon bar taste!!! yummy!!

This is the perfect thing when your sad!! Its easy and doesn’t take a while so you can just be in a horible mood and make it when ever you want. Its awesome!! I have been getting no sleep lately!! Seriously I don’t sleep at night! So I have been waking up in a bad grumpy mood. I always have lemons in my  house so I just make these and put my self in a good mood. I try to save some for my family but it never works! I eat them, and just go back to bed. Its nice, I love eating and doing nothing else but sleeping and relaxing the whole day. I’m doing a ton of that now trying to relax before school starts up again. In Howard county, it starts Auguest 26.

I have always like lemon, its so sour and fresh. Lemon cake,cookies,cupcakes, frosting, sour candy, but nothing is more classic then a lemon bar. Except Maybe Lemonade. But you get the point!

I can’t make a diagram but it goes shortbread, lemon, powdered sugar. What can be better??? Lie I can;t think of it, do you know? I was gonna post these a while ago but I forgot to get pictures. So I waited till next time to take the pictures, I made them and when I went upstairs to get my camera, my family went alien lie and they were gone when I cam back. I forgot about them after that till now. So there is my life!

Ingredients-

For the Crust-

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup butter, at room tempuature
  • 1/3 cup confections sugar

For the Lemon Custard-

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup and 1 tsp of squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 1/4 tablespoon lemon zest

To Taste-

  • Powdered Sugar

Directions-

  1. Put an oven rack into middle
    position in oven and preheat oven to 350
  2. Put 1 cup
    flour and butter in a mixing bowl and mash with the back of a spatula or
    wooden spoon until thoroughly combined. Mix in 1/4 cup confectioners’
    sugar, vanilla extract, and salt; mash mixture together until mixture
    looks like a slightly crumbly cookie dough.
  3. Wet your
    fingers with a little water and press dough into bottom of prepared
    baking dish.
  4. Bake crust on center rack in the preheated oven until crust edges are barely golden brown, about 20-22 minutes.
  5. Beat eggs and
    egg yolks together in a bowl, whisk in the white sugar and 2 tablespoons
    flour until smooth. Add lemon juice and the lemon zest,whisk for 2 minutes.
    Pour lemon custard over crust.
  6. Bake on
    center rack until custard is set,
    25 minutes. Let cool completely before cutting into bars. Sprinkle on Powdered sugar

One thought on “Lemon Bars with Shortbread Crust

Leave a comment